Piranha 3D – Movie Review

Piranha 3D

Plot: Every year the population of sleepy Lake Victoria explodes from 5,000 to 50,000 for Spring Break, a riot of sun and drunken fun. But this year, there’s something more to worry about than hangovers and complaints from local old timers; a new type of terror is about to be cut loose on Lake Victoria. After a sudden underwater tremor sets free scores of the prehistoric man-eating fish, an unlikely group of strangers must band together to stop themselves from becoming fish food for the areas new razor-toothed residents. (Source: IMDb)

My Thoughts: I first saw a preview for this movie on TV, and thought, “Man, I can’t wait for this to come out.” Trailer after trailer came out, and then I saw the extended 10 minute preview NSFW clip. At that point, I knew that I wanted to see this movie. The hype from all of the trailers created buzz on the internet to, all of the advanced reviews and even the reviews now raved about the movie. So at this point my hopes were very high and was expecting greatness. I’m glad that I wasn’t disappointed, the movie was a blast to watch, It had everything that guys want in a movie, violence, suspense, women. The entire D-Day Piranha battle was nothing but wall to wall blood, screaming, severed limbs, and gore. The violence in this movie is some of the most violent, grotesque images I have ever seen. Trying to not spoil much for people I will just use keywords of one of the craziest deaths in the movie. Prop, hair, head.

The ending to this movie is a clear sign that there will be a sequel to the movie, also knowing that they have already greenlit a sequel to the movie. Is a sure sign to know that if the sequel is anything like this movie, no one will be disappointed.

I am a great fan of very culty movies, i.e Reefer Madness. Now this movie is very far from Reefer Madness, I think given some time this movie will in fact reach very high cult fandom.

If you are looking for the ultimate fun summer movie, go see this one. I give it a 4.6 out of 5, because it had everything that anyone could want in a fun movie. (This isn’t a movie to bring the whole family to see though.)

Share Your Thoughts!

