Easy A – Movie Review

Easy A

Plot: High school student Olive Penderghast (Emma Stone) finds herself the victim of her school’s “rumor mill” when she lies to her best friend Rhiannon (Alyson Michalka) about a weekend tryst with a fictional college freshman. Word quickly spreads of Olive’s promiscuity and, much to her surprise, she welcomes the attention. When she agrees to help out a bullied friend by pretending to sleep with him, her image rapidly degrades to a more lascivious state and her world begins to spin out of control. As she helps more and more of her classmates and her lies continue to escalate, Olive must find a way to save face before the school’s religious fanatic Marianne (Amanda Bynes) gets her expelled and she loses a shot at attaining her own happiness. (Source: IMDb)

My Thoughts: I went to this movie with my girlfriend, her mom, and her sister, cousin and friend. I knew the subject matter was a little bit questionable. I didn’t think it would be as questionable as it really was. For a PG-13 movie, it definitely pushed the boundaries they were allowed to.

Enough about that let me get onto the review. Now I love Emma Stone, especially her role in Zombieland. This movie was cute, it had its moments were you would laugh. Though it wasn’t a laugh out loud funny movie. With it being a teen movie like this it was to in-depth in terms of a plot line it was extremely predictable, but with movies like this, what else would you be expecting?

Overall, I did enjoy the movie but it could have been strengthened in some parts of the movie. One thing I do have to give credit to them for was that they did really capture how rumors spread in high school, I think when it came to that category this movie definitely did flourish.

I would rate this movie a 3.8 out of 5. I was hoping it would be a little funnier but with all the factors to consider. It was a good movie

One thought on “Easy A – Movie Review

Share Your Thoughts!

