The Reef – Review

The Reef

Plot: Luke welcomes his friend Matt and his girlfriend Suzie that come from London and Matt’s sister and Luke’s former girlfriend Kate that comes from Sydney to sail with him and the sailor Warren in a sailboat. However, the vessel hits an underwater rock and capsizes with an opening on her bottom. Luke advises that they should swim in the north direction to reach the Turtle Island, in Queensland, Australia, while they have strength since there is a current moving the boat in the opposite direction of land but Warren prefers to stay on the hull waiting for help since there are sharks in the water. The quartet swims, but they are hunted by a great white shark. (Source: IMDb)

My Thoughts: Sharks scare the daylights out of me, I am sometimes even scared to just watch a shark movie. I deviate away from my fears though when I see a trailer for a good shark movie though. I saw the trailer for this movie on a website that I contribute content to, CineTalk. I saw the trailer and thought to myself, that looks like a great movie. So I decided to take some time and watch the movie. It has glaring similarities to Open Water and Open Water 2. None the less, the movie has it’s own style which I took to very nicely. This movie gains extra points from me because they used actual sharks in the filming of this movie.

The movie starts off just like any other shark movie would, everyone is getting ready to go on this fun trip out into the ocean! Soon after though of course everything goes wrong. The movie has great acting which I really enjoyed about this movie, but half of the time you won’t even be noticing the acting.

Yes they are floating through the ocean, so there definately are some moments that drag on to long, but whenever the moments that drag to long are taking place, there is a hint of tension to keep you on the edge of your seat. There are so many parts of this movie I had my toes curled up in fear. (That’s what I do when I’m scared in the ocean.) The tension level in this movie is far superior to Open Water I feel, and of course they said that this was based on true events which is always said to make everything much, much scarier.

I would rate this movie a 4 out of 5 because it was filled with tension and horror and the occasional shark attack for all of the gore fans in this movie. I recommend this movie to anyone who is not afraid of sharks and is looking forward to seeing a good movie that will have you holding your breath.

Share Your Thoughts!

