Battle L.A. – Movie Review

Battle LA

Plot: A Marine platoon faces off against an alien invasion in Los Angeles.

My Thoughts: This will the most extensive you will probably ever see me write, mainly because I not only loved this movie and because I have never been so excited for the release of a movie then I was with this one. I thought the movie was A+ material. Now I have a bone to pick.

Just because I was curious if I was the only one who loved this movie this much, I have been looking on the internet for reviews of this movie. Some good, I will be the first to admit that there are a lot of people who really liked this movie. Then there are the other people. Yes I am aware everyone is entitled to their opinions and thoughts. This movie has received some serious bashing, the word cliché is being thrown around a lot. And when I say a lot I mean in almost every single negative review, that word is brought up three, four times, not only does it sicken me but because every movie has its own feel to it, every movie has its own take on different things. I saw a review that said “This movie is text-book war and action film.” I have some serious problems with this statement, mainly because, who cares. People who love action and war movies love the text-book version. They love the explosions, the gun fire, the sounds, the emotions, the brotherhood, that go into war movies. I personally have not seen a movie like this at all, I have not seen a movie with such amazing CGI, such amazing effects, and the range to go from killing aliens in one scene, to crying and sobbing in a matter of seconds. This movie hit perfectly in my opinion, I loved it.

Enough of my thoughts on everyone else now. I thought that this movie was perfectly executed and played well. From the moment the movie kicks in you are into action, there are almost no points in this movie where there is no action, the most you may go through is 5-minutes. Then you are right back to the heart-pounding edge of your seat action all of us “text-book” readers know and love. I saw the first posters for this movie last year, ever since then I have been intrigued, I have looked into it countless times before its release just to see if there is any new gossip about the movie, now I need to look no more, I just need to wait until this comes out on Blu-Ray so I can buy it then.

I do have one problem with this movie though, the theme song that has been known so well as of late because of the trailers, was not in the movie. That was the only part where I felt the movie fell, the song is captivating, mysterious, scary, everything you would hope a theme song would be. Well the song is not in the movie, so download it onto your phone or your iPod and listen to it during the credits.

Here is the trailer for the movie just in case you haven’t seen it.

My final rating for this movie is a definite 5 out of 5. I give it a 5 because the movie really uses the things a theater has to offer, it uses the surround sound to the point where you are literally shaking in your chairs, I loved that.

Also, I give the actors a thumbs up in this movie, there is one sequence where there is a sincere feeling of brotherhood between the marines, I loved it. The sequence was very powerful and thematic. When you see the movie you will know exactly which one I am talking about.

Lastly, I don’t usually see a movie more than once in the theaters but with this one, I will see it as many times as possible!

One thought on “Battle L.A. – Movie Review

  1. Pingback: Battle L.A. – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog | Michael H. Spieles Movie Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

