Chain Letter – Movie Review

Chain Letter

Plot: Six friends receive a mysterious chain letter via text messaging and in their email accounts from a maniac who’s hunting down teenagers who fail to forward his online chain letter. Who knew they should take the threats in the chain letter seriously? Or that chain letters using the teens’ favorite technologies to track them can kill? This maniacal game pits friend against friend as they race to beat rules that seem impossible to escape. Break the chain, lose a life. Do you pass it on? Does friendship mean anything?

My Thoughts: Movies like this always intrigue me, I am a junkie for sense less violent movies like this, when I first heard about it, saw a few posters for it in New York City, I got excited for it because chain letters like this always plague schools, threatening terrible things to the people who refuse to send it along. I myself, sad to say was a vessel for these things, I used to send them to everyone because I never wanted to take the chance that anything like this would happen, whether it’s dying, or even having bad luck for a few years. I was always a gullible kid when it came to that kind of stuff, well good thing I didn’t see this movie when I went though this phase of chain messages, it would have scared me beyond belief and everyone would get a forward.

The movie starts out with a montage of news stations that talk about how technology is ruining our society, how viruses are infecting our lives and the way we live. Sadly, that montage is true because this is the technology age. We are all addicted to our computers, while it can be a good thing, it can also be bad. Enough about that, let me get back to the movie.

The story line in my opinion is very new, it’s very intuitive, very dangerous and is played out with such seriousness, even with some very unknown actors mixed in with some faces that we have all seen in other movies. Something I like about how they pick actors who are less known, adds a little bit of realism to it because you connect to these people and see how vulnerable they are, which makes it seem that even something like this could happen to you personally. I just think that an unknown cast is a great idea for the filmmakers of today who are really trying to scare the audience.

The violence in this movie is perfect, just if that opening scene was not cut right before the good part, it would be the icing on top of the cake. All of the kills are very out of left field, expect for the engine one, we could all see that one coming, the set up was very predictable, but that did not take away from the effect or fright of the kill.

I would give this movie a 4.7/5, I give it that because the kills were good, as was the acting and the plot, oh the plot, it was great. I wouldn’t give it a perfect score but it is close to it if you want a violent movie that is guaranteed to be fun.

One thought on “Chain Letter – Movie Review

Share Your Thoughts!

