Bridesmaids – Movie Review

Bridesmaids

Plot: Annie (Kristen Wiig), is a maid of honor whose life unravels as she leads her best friend, Lillian (Maya Rudolph), and a group of colorful bridesmaids (Rose Byrne, Melissa McCarthy, Wendi McLendon-Covey and Ellie Kemper) on a wild ride down the road to matrimony. Annie’s life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian’s maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she’ll show Lillian and her bridesmaids just how far you’ll go for someone you love.

My Thoughts: I had heard a lot about this movie and was expecting great things and from so many tweets, articles, and everything else, so was everyone, even after the first trailer that I saw for it, I had my doubts but my doubts were not necessary! Here is a tweet to sum it all up.

This movie for sure, 100% delivered after all of the hype, I loved it and for 2 straight hours I was laughing my ass off the whole time! Kristen Wiig is hilarious, she is great in SNL, also she was really good in MacGruber (if your into that kind of movie). Something I really liked about this movie was that it gave Ellie Kemper (Aaron from The Office) a pretty big role, I love her in the office and thought that she was really funny in this movie as well! This movie was a great assortment of women funny people it was unbelievable, they had so many great characters in this movie, especially Melissa McCarthy from Mike and Molly, even though she wasn’t in a very prominate role, she has an extremely funny and touching scene with Kristen Wiig.

This movie has been given the short shrift. It has been billed as the women hangover, as a chick flick, let me tell you that it is neither of those, this movie is not a hangover with women because they do not go to Vegas. (Even though they try.) No one gets lost, and no one gets drugged and left on a roof. Secondly, this movie is not at all a chick flick. Read this tweet:

I would have to say that my experience was quite the same, the large majority were men, people did not think that a bunch of women could make a comedy movie guys would be interested in, but these ladies definitely nailed that and got it right. Boy did they get it right!

I give this movie a 5 out of 5, I loved it, and if you love some good comedy, if you love a good laugh, then you will for sure love this movie!

2 thoughts on “Bridesmaids – Movie Review

Share Your Thoughts!

