Doghouse – Movie Review

Doghouse

Plot: A group of men head to a remote village to help one of their friends get over his divorce; when they get there, though, they discover that all the women have been infected with a virus that makes them man-hating cannibals.

My Thoughts: Watching the previews for this movie I didn’t think that I would laugh much because it seemed like it wanted to be Shaun Of The Dead so much. The story line of the two movies differ very much and I think I have to say that I enjoyed this little bit of a twist that the director of this movie threw onto it, it made it feel new, like it wanted to be in a class of its own, still having all of that british humor you can expect from biritish movies, but something that they do differently are zombie movies.

The idea in this movie is new as far as I am concerned, the way the virus is spread is pretty funny and the way that all of the things play out are all in the end humorous.

There are a lot of things in this movie that are meant to be really funny but fall flat, though there are some pretty good laugh out loud moments. Which if you are a fan of Shaun Of The Dead, you will quite like this movie.

Zombies have come a long way, starting from Night Of The Living Dead, the slow zombies, to the running zombies in 28 Days Later, 28 Weeks Later, and then in 2013, 28 Months Later, now we have gender specific zombies which I quite liked I have to say.

The characters in this movie were intriguing but I do have to say that other than the first 10 minutes of the movie, there is little to no character development, making the characters seem pretty flat except for the stigmas that are slapped onto them quickly, then there is the character Banksy who comes out of nowhere.

Let me end my review by saying this, you have to be able to laugh at very silly things such as a women zombie being hit with a flying soccer ball, you need to check your brain at the door truly because if you do not, and you go in thinking that this movie will be a serious zombie flick, you are wrong, this movie was designed to make you laugh and that is exactly what it makes you do.

I give this movie a 4 out of 5, the violence, gore, and blood in this movie is very fantastic leaving any gore fanatic satisfied, because the kills are very innovative, I loved them.

Share Your Thoughts!

