I Am Number Four – Movie Review

I Am Number Four

Plot: Extraordinary teen John Smith (Pettyfer) is a fugitive on the run from ruthless enemies sent to destroy him. Changing his identity, moving from town to town with his guardian Henri (Olyphant), John is always the new kid with no ties to his past. In the small Ohio town he now calls home, John encounters unexpected, life-changing events-his first love (Agron), powerful new abilities and a connection to the others who share his incredible destiny.

My Thoughts: I have been wondering about this movie ever since I saw the first preview for it, and then reviews started to come out saying that this movie was terrible, then at the same time there were reviews that were saying the movie was really good. So I decided not to bother with it in theaters and just wait until it was on cable or dvd. That was a really good decision on my part. The movie was okay to say the least, it had its moments and then it also had moments where you just couldn’t handle it. This movie is the definition of predictable, it made me sad because the movie tried so hard to be something great but in the end it failed, the romance between the two main characters was so forced and so unnecessary that it just made the movie so much worse.

The one good redeaming quality about this movie was Timothy Olyphant’s performance, I think he is such a great actor whether he is in his TV show Justified which is great, or in his movie roles like The Crazies which I love. His performance as Number Four’s guardian was very good because he is a good on-screen bad-ass.

If you watch the trailer for it you probably get the impression that it is a really good action adventure movie but I hate to say it, and I hate when this happens but pretty much all the action in the trailer is all of the action in the movie, the fight scene’s are scattered out in the movie leaving there to be long drawn out scenarios which are not necessary to the storyline. Something good about the action though is that the special effects are really good, the simple blue flames look pretty cool I must admit. But some simple flames can not draw the attention away from the lack of action that seems to be promised from the trailers.

I give this movie a 2 out of 5. I thought that this movie could be so much better than it really was but I was let down, which is sad to say.

One thought on “I Am Number Four – Movie Review

  1. I wasn’t as hard on this as you were, but I do agree that it seemed like it was trying too hard. I wish the whole thing would have been like the big fight at the end, but it wasn’t and that really hurt it, if you ask me. Still, I’ve seen worse…and better in my day.

Share Your Thoughts!

