Buried – Movie Review

Buried

Plot: Waking groggy in pitch darkness, Paul Conroy, an American truck driver working in Iraq in 2006, slowly realizes he is trapped inside a wooden coffin, buried alive. With his cigarette lighter, he can see the trap he is in, and he quickly realizes that there’s not enough air for him to live long. He finds within the coffin a working cellphone, which allows him contact with the outside world. But the outside world proves not to be very helpful at finding a man buried in a box in the middle of the Iraqi desert. Paul must rely on his best resource–himself.

My Thoughts: Buried was a movie that I watched the trailers for and maybe I didn’t like the story or something but I just was not interested, every time I would go by Redbox or On Demand, I would see it and never gave it the time of day. Well I heard some of my family talking about it and then I decided that it was worth the hour and a half. So I got everything together and started the movie. From the get go it grabbed me, I felt so immersed in this movie, the story, the struggles he went through, the movie sucked me right in.

Let me first say that to Ryan Reynolds credit, he commanded the movie, the screen, the everything for the entire length of the movie, which I felt he was very riveting and played the stressed character very well. From his freak outs, to his vulgar infused rants, to his emotional moments. Reynolds is very good at what he does because he can manage things like comedy like in Just Friends, or the new movie The Change-Up, then he can do movies that are mixed with a little of both like The Green Lantern, and then he can so straight serious roles like this one.

There was one thing about this movie that sort of bugged me, but at the same time I could see the view point of why it was put in there. The entire snake sequence, I did not really understand why it was dragged out as long as it needed to be, and I thought that the ending of that scene was very anti-climatic to say the least. Now I will give one compliment to that scene, it showed the danger that he was facing inside of that coffin.

The story of this movie is fantastic, I really enjoyed it and I thought the movie was executed well by the acting, the directing, the producing and the writing of course, I could not really find any sort of mix up’s, story problems, or inconsistencies, or any un-ended plot points. I quite enjoyed that about this movie.

I give this movie a fair 4 out of 5, because it was meant to be a drama but the way it is shot it may even seem like a horror movie to people out there who are claustrophobic.

9 thoughts on “Buried – Movie Review

  1. Pingback: movie-blog − Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  2. Pingback: Movie blog » Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  3. Pingback: Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  4. Pingback: Movie blog» Blog Archive » Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  5. Pingback: movieblog » Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  6. Pingback: Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  7. Pingback: Movie blog » Blog Archive » Buried – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  8. I’m not a big horror nut and the ads I remember for the movie were really vague and looked like it was some kind of horror flick. That and later I heard about it just being Ryan Reynolds in a box the entire time (nearly).

    After watching though I was surprised, because it was really good, especially since it is Ryan Reynolds in a box for and hour and a half.

Share Your Thoughts!

