House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review

House of 1000 Corpses

Plot: In “House of 1000 Corpses”, two young couples take a misguided tour onto the back roads of America in search of a local legend known as Dr. Satan. Lost and stranded, they are set upon by a bizarre family of psychotics. Murder, cannibalism and satanic rituals are just a few of the 1000+ horrors that await

My Thoughts: Well I saw the movie The Devil’s Rejects which is based upon this movie and maybe could be considered a sequel but to me it seems like that movie deviated from this one by a lot. Maybe someone could clear that up for me, that would be great. This movie I found on On Demand and I have wanted to see this movie for quite sometime now because I’ve heard so much about it, that it was very disgusting, that it was tough to watch, etc. Well I decided to take the time and I sat down to watch it, now I thought from all of the reviews I’ve read in the past that this was going to be one of the most violent bloody disgusting movies I have ever seen, but I was very misled, maybe it’s just me but I felt that this movie was not as violent as it was so talked up to be. Oh well, beside the point I really enjoyed this movie, I loved the story but right at the end of the movie, I got a little confused and a little off-put because the ending just really did not make any sense to me, yes I got that she was in some shelter underground but some of the things down there, did not make much sense to me.

Clearly this movie had some serious flaws to me but they weren’t anything that really hurt what I thought of the film, I felt it was good, it was just a little bit odd and off the beaten path. Which are the movies that I love, the one’s that are disturbing, and not the norm, and Rob Zombie seems to have tapped into that vein so even though he gets some hate from people on the internet, I feel that he is not that bad, yes he has his problems in his movies but other than that, I did quite enjoy the Halloween movies that he made, and I see why people would dis-like them but I knew what the movie was going to be, a non-stop extremely violent bloodfest and I quite enjoyed it because of that.

Now I am not really sure if this is a compliment or not, but the people in this movie were really good actors, enough to make you believe that they were really inbred woods people. The make up, the speak, the everything, they had it down to a science and they did a really good job. Like I said though, I am not sure if it’s a good thing that you can play a really good inbred hill-billy.

I give this movie a 4 out of 5 because like I mentioned earlier in this review, the movie did have it’s flubs so it is far from perfect, but the movie did have some good redeeming qualities I quite liked about it.

10 thoughts on “House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review

  1. The Devil’s Rejects is a sequel in a sense that it follows the same characters from House of a Thousand Corpses, but doesn’t carry over many story details. I also feel The Devil’s Rejects is a vastly superior film to House of a Thousand Corpses.

    Good review.

  2. Pingback: Movie blog » Blog Archive » House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  3. Pingback: movie-blog − House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  4. Pingback: Movie blog » House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  5. yeah House 1000 Corpses had many issues with potential cuts and being refused classification and was dropped by its funding company part way through. RZ didnt get chance to make this film as he would have liked therefore, but I still feel he did a decent job in creating an original horror film. Dr Satan in particular is a great character in my opnion.

    However, I agree that the Devils Rejects is a vastly superior film and one of the best horror films from the last 20 years!

    • I absolutely agree with you! I liked the character idea of Dr. Satan and I hate when the cuts have to come into play, because my favorite movie franchise would have to be the SAW series and those have been riddled with cuts, especially one of the most recent ones.

      This movie is unique very much so and like I said, I agree with you and pgcooper that Devils Rejects was much better and you feel it was one of the best from the past two decades, it would be hard for me to disagree with that!

  6. Pingback: House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  7. Pingback: House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  8. Pingback: Movie blog» Blog Archive » House of 1000 Corpses – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

