Drive Thru – Movie Review

Drive Thru

Plot: Horror gets Super Sized when Horny The Clown, the demonic mascot of “Hella-Burger,” starts slashing Orange County teenagers with his meat cleaver from Hell.

My Thoughts: When I watched this movie yesterday I was trying to figure out if I had seen it or not and about 3 minutes into it I realized that I had seen it. The first time I watched it, I got about the same distance into it and gave up on the movie, I just for the life of me could not get into it. Yesterday I was in the mood for something of this nature so I decided to give it another go. A little distance into the film I realized that I wasn’t in for some sort of cinematic masterpiece but I guess that is not what the filmmakers set out to make. Let me go on record as saying that this movie is not terrible, at the same time do not take that as I think it is good, it in that grey area in between like most movies are now a days. The character Horny The Clown was something I was not expecting, because a clown like that did not sound very bad-ass to me, but after a few kills and a few chase scene’s, we see that this clown is not one to joke. The costume for him I actually for some reason oddly liked.

There were a few scenes in this movie that I really enjoyed because of simply the way they were shot, one in particular was when Horny was chasing Mackenzie down the halls of her high school and we get a shot of him running and it shot in this very fast paced quick way which is hard to describe, but I have been seeing that pop up in movies a lot lately and I enjoy that so that is a redeeming thing for this movie in my opinion.

The last thing two things about this movie that I liked was the acting of Nicholas D’Agosto and Melora Hardin, I felt he did a really good job and played his character well. Sometimes. Other times it makes you cringe, not because of his acting but because of the lines written in this movie. Melora did a very good job because not only did I love her on The Office but she was able to bring a little bit of that character in this movie because she had her moments where she may make you laugh. Lastly, most horror movies try to add in a little bit of humor to lighten some of the tense situations and it always falls flat and you end up laughing at it because it tried so hard to be funny but it didn’t work. This movie actually made me laugh legitimately a few times and that was because of Larry Joe Campbell who played Crockers, he made me laugh because of his reactions every time they would mistake his name for “Crackers” and he would just do some off the wall physical stuff that would make you laugh, I didn’t like that he was only in this movie momentarily but the time he was in there it was a good choice.

Now the bad things. Some of the effects, not so good. Like when one of the stoner’s gets killed with the meat cleaver, I sat there and said to myself “really?” it was terrible, the blood, the axe, it all looked so incredibly fake, and it was that way with most of the kill scenes, none the less you could tell that they at least tried to make it seem legit but it didn’t work out.

I give this movie a 2 out of 5 and that’s being generous because like I said, I didn’t hate the movie but I sure did not like it.

3 thoughts on “Drive Thru – Movie Review

  1. Pingback: Movie blog» Blog Archive » Drive Thru – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  2. Pingback: Drive Thru – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  3. Pingback: Drive Thru – Movie Review « Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

Share Your Thoughts!

