Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie Review

Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark

Plot: A young girl is sent to live with her estranged father and his girlfriend at their new home. The father, Alex has plans to spruce up the home with the help of his interior decorator girlfriend, Kim. The previous owner of the home was a famous painter who mysteriously disappeared. Alex’s daughter, Sally, soon discovers the cause of the painter’s disappearance.

My Thoughts: I know, it’s a sin, I have not seen the original, so this review is based on the point of view as a non-horror purist. I love the movies that Guillermo Del Toro makes, I think he is a great director and has potential to make really good movies, this, on the other hand, this movie was not good, granted, it wasn’t terrible, the movie had it’s ups, and then had it’s downs. It had it’s slow parts, it had it’s fast paced parts. Overall though this movie has failed, it failed to scare, the only scary part of this movie is shown to you in the previews, the other scares in this movie are so one dimensional you can see them coming from a mile away and then once they finally arrive, they are gone after a few frames. The parts that are meant to scare you in the first place are all spoiled in the previews anyways.

I was told to stay away from this movie by a lot of my friends but I kept thinking too myself, “No, it looks so promising, it looks scary, it has potential!” That is what I was thinking all the way until I got home after the movie, because leaving the theater I was thinking that this movie was really good, but then when I had a chance to sit down and digest all that I saw on the screen I realized the huge plot holes.

Now, since I did not see the original movie, correct me if I am wrong, but the creature’s want the main women lead, who was an adult. Now in this movie the Fairy’s wanted to get to the children, why would Guillermo change this? To exploit the market of movies that involve children being abducted and put into danger, personally it didn’t bother me that much but it did cross my mind and since I saw the movie I have been trying to figure out why he would make such a drastic change to the movie, maybe it was mainly just because he didn’t want to make a shot for shot remake of the original movie like many horror movies are becoming now.

I do have too give the movie credit though, the Fairy’s looked really cool, I have too admit that they did look pretty cuddly at a few parts where I would like to have one, but then by the time I figured out where I would put it, it began to start attacking someone.

My last issue with this movie was that the ending was terrible, I mean sure if you don’t want to try to rescue someone that’s cool you selfish bastard.

This movie was supposed to scare me but in the end, it just disappointed me, I saw his intentions, I liked what he was trying to accomplish, but unfortunately it fell flat. I give this movie a 2 out of 5, I’m sorry Guillermo, I feel bad but that’s how I feel about it, again, I didn’t see the original, when I see the original, I may rewrite this review if my feelings change.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie Review

  1. Pingback: movie-blog − Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie … – Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  2. Pingback: Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie … – Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog « Movie blog

  3. Pingback: Movie blog » Blog Archive » Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie … – Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

  4. Pingback: Movie blog » Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark – Movie … – Mr Movie Fiend's Movie Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

