The Avengers

So, I made a post not long ago about how I saw The Avengers last night (or this morning depending on your view of things). I think it is safe to say that a lot of people have been looking forward to seeing this film. This has been in the making for a while. We had Iron Man, which lead to The Incredible Hulk, Thor, and Captain America. All of these Marvel films have been slowly building towards this point. It’s really genius. I’ll get into this some other time though. Point is, people have been waiting for this. It was either going to blow and not live up to the buildup, or it would be amazing. Which it is.

I feel like the first thing that I have to talk about is the cast. I mean that’s what makes this movie. So, The Avengers. Robert Downey Jr. is Tony Stark aka Iron Man. Honestly, nothing new here. Downey owns that role and doesn’t really look like he’s acting at all, which is probably why a number of his roles lately have had a similar attitude. He does a great job though. Stark does a great job being an ass in this film. He’s kinda the catalyst for a number of events whether intentionally or not. Whedon does kinda beat you over the head with “let’s transform Stark into an actual ‘hero’.” I guess his character does get some new development, though technically they all do. He was weird. There are some odd moments where he is sort of randomly helpful. I guess it’s a matter of how much you want to close read his role. You can easily look at him and think that it’s nothing new, but there are some little bits.

Next on the list (according to IMDB) is Chris Evans as Captain America. Evans manages to stand with the rest of the cast and hold his own. I wasn’t impressed though. He’s overshadowed by the rest of the cast. Evans manages to still give Rogers a presence on-screen. Captain America on the other hand is just sort of lame. Like Evans, he holds his own, but when you compare him to Hulk and Thor (who are complete badasses in this film) he’s not that impressive. I feel like he get’s pushed to the periphery quite a bit as well.

Mark Ruffalo replaces Edward Norton as Bruce Banner (I’m ignoring Eric Bana). I thought Norton did a decent job, but Ruffalo is a lot better. Different takes on the character though. This film also has a lot of humor, which I think Ruffalo does a good job of handling. He’s not constantly a grumpy dude (this is actually kind of explained later). Banner is actually incredibly important to the film. I’m not sure if part of this was done to give Ruffalo more fo a chance to strut his stuff or not. I’m not complaining though. The Hulk/Banner was easily the best in this film. Banner has some great lines as does the Hulk (yes he does speak a few times, but not Hulk Smash). The Hulk also has the best acting sequences. I mean he is the ultimate badass. Without him the Avengers would have been so screwed. After watching this, I really wish Ruffalo would have had his own film for the Hulk. Oh, and the Hulk looks great. He’s not twenty feet tall, but he’s not Lou Ferrigno. He’s nicely sized and he is not neon green. He looks nice and his face is great as well. Yes, it’s different as the Hulk, but it still retains the likeness to an extent of Ruffalo. That and you get some good emotion shown. His movements are also great to watch as well. Not just fighting, him walking around. They make him a bit ape like. Basically, the Hulk made this film on its own.

We still aren’t done. Chris Hemsworth returns as Thor. He’s absent early on, but quickly makes an appearance and he is nicely incorporated into the film. His appearance actually introduces some great scenes in the movie. Not to give too much away, but when he shows up Captain America and Iron Man and Thor all duke it out with each other (physically and verbally). It was amazing. It also sets the tone for the rest of the film. Hemsowrth is still bad ass as Thor. Personally, I’m torn between whether I like Thor or Hulk more. They are both easily in the top two though. I mean they are just AMAZING together (yes they have great scenes together!). Thor is pretty vital as well as far as giving some sage advice goes. He helps out the other characters a lot, more notably than Stark. This is a spoiler, but not much of one, so feel free to skip this sentence. Loki makes a number of comments about their “immortality” and I was really hoping they would do more with that. Thor does get a knife wound, but it never develops. It was a little, but after the comments Loki made, I was hoping that would crop up at some point. Anyways, Thor and Hulk need their own buddy film. Road trip with them or something.

Black Widow and Hawkeye are present. They both have some impressive scenes, but it’s hard to stand out once the others show up. Black Widow gets more development than Hawkeye and to be honest I wasn’t really impressed. Scarlett Johansson wasn’t horrible, but she wasn’t that good. Again, in comparison to the rest of the cast, didn’t hold up much. Hawkeye is just sort of there. He gets some interesting bits, but nothing overtly special. Once he starts into the action, he has some badass scenes with a bow. And yes there is a Legolas joke in the film.

Samuel L. Jackson of course returns as Nick Furry. Still a badass, and he does have a plain, of sorts. He gets a lot more screen time and he does have some action sequences. Clark Gregg also returns as Agent Coulson. Pay attention to him. Cobie Smulders also joins the cast as Agent Hill. I love Smulders. She’s great on HIMYM. Not overtly impressed with her here. She seemed very wooden. Maybe that was the point, but for whatever reason I was disappointed.

Tom Hiddleston holds his own as Loki. I mean compared to the entire Avengers team, you’d think he’d have a hard time having any sort of presence against them, but he does.

Anyways, the cast was amazing. They worked great together and the dynamic between the Avengers, and others was great. It was insane. I should probably move on now though.

Visually the movie kicks ass. I mean, I doubt that is a surprise to anyone, but after seeing Thor and Captain America, there really aren’t any surprises to how awesome this film is to watch. It’s great. I did not see it in 3D, however I get the impression that it would actually be pretty neat to see it in 3D. Unfortunately I’m very much against 3D as I wear glasses and they’ve yet to take that into account. The theater I was at had two viewings last night. One 3D and one not. The majority of the theater I was in were mostly my peers from the college and as I pointed out to my friend, most of the theater consisted of people wearing glasses (not the 3D kind).

The score was really good as well. Easy to miss in this film, but if you pay attention to it, it really helped. It clearly wasn’t distracting.

What else…The story? I’m not going to bother trying to hint at what happens exactly in the film. I mean The Avengers are not formed at the beginning. The Tesseract (originally the Cosmic Cube I believe) is stolen by Loki. SHIELD needs this back and Furry begins assembling the team. They don’t get along, shenanigans ensue. Oh, and Loki is not acting alone. It is well written and easy to follow. In fact I feel like someone who has not seen the other Marvel films would be able to sit down and watch this and still be able to understand what is going on. Whedon does a good job fo providing just enough back story to refresh viewers as well as informing those who may not have seen every film, or any.

This movie is also, HILARIOUS. Of course you have Stark’s comments. That’s expected. The rest of the cast all have their moments to shine and really, the humor really helps keep this movie going. A lot of the humour comes from bickering between the main cast and it is just a constant stream that keeps you lost in the film. I mean the pacing was great, but the constant use of humor really helped. It never felt like they were reaching for jokes. They just slide in nicely.

One downside to seeing this opening night is that I missed a lot of jokes. There are a lot of back and forth zingers between characters and the crowd would laugh at the first one and you’d miss the responses. It was worth it, but it does give me another excuse to go see the film again. Need to try to catch some of those missed lines.

Also, yes there is an easter egg. Unlike pervious films you do not have to sit and wait through all of the credits. They do the preliminary set (maybe five minutes long) and then you have it. It was really nice. You are introduced to someone. If you don’t know who it is, you can easily look it up online. People have already asked.

Anyways, this post is long enough. You should have the gist by now about how I feel. Great film. Easily the greatest Marvel film and I honestly think this stands up against Nolan’s Batman works. They are very much two different machines, but they are both amazing. To me, they both represent what comic book films should be. So, go see Avengers as soon as possible. I know I am going to.

You can check out more from me at Film Daze

increase YouTube views

One thought on “The Avengers

  1. Nice long post, and I agree, for the most part. It was an awesome movie. A little constructive criticism: work on your sentence structure and grammar and you could be a much better writer. You have potential. Two or three times you wrote fo instead of “of”, but most importantly, “anyways” is NOT proper. There is no s at the end of anyway. Look forward to checking out more. Keep writing.

Share Your Thoughts!

