STEP BROTHERS

2008

4/10

DIRECTOR: Adam McKay

May Contain Spoilers!

Step Brothers is just one of those comedies that you either get, or you don’t. Is this plausible? I think not, but you never know I guess. It’s not that Will Ferrell or John C. Reilly as the titular Step Brothers don’t play their roles well, because they defiantly do, but when I comes down to it, the entire film left me bemused.

The premise is that Nancy (Mary Steenburgen) and Robert (Richard Jenkins) marry, and both coincidentally, have two seemingly mentally challenged, though I think that they are just supposed to be spoiled, sons who are in their 40’s and still haven’t left home. They are treated and act like teenage boys who have to share a room and fight for their respective parent’s affection. It’s an interesting idea and as the story as it goes is well executed but I simply can’t get behind it.

You’ll either love this or hate it and I am leaning towards the latter. It just wasn’t for me as it seemed to be exploitative and cynical comedy for sake of it.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts!

