The Poseidon Adventure (1972)

They don’t make disaster movies any more. At least I’m not aware of any good disaster films. To me Airport, The Towering Inferno, and The Poseidon Adventure are amazing disaster films that came out in the 70s and were great films. Unfortunately I feel like audiences may not be into these kind of films anymore. That and they would probably be laden with CGI effects that would take away from the power these films had in the 70s.

The Poseidon Adventure is a great disaster flick, but being a disaster flick it isn’t going to be anyone’s favorite film. It shouldn’t be ignored. The visual and special effects are great, especially since this is the early 70s. The story may be nothing overtly special, but there is enough there to propel the film forward.

The cast are amazing though. I mean Gene Hackman and Ernest Borgnine are great as is the rest of the cast. I can’t really complain about any of the acting or anything else for that matter.

A wonderful movie to just sit and chill out and enjoy the sheer spectacle of it. I wish I could have seen it in theaters or hell it would be neat to see it now in something like IMAX.

Not the most amazing movie and it has it’s flaws, but defiantly a great disaster film. Definitely needs to be watch by fans of 70s cinema.

Share Your Thoughts!